Call for Submissions: 2014 Mallory Gilbert Leadership Award, Professional Association of Canadian Theatres (PACT)

The Professional Association of Canadian Theatres (PACT) is pleased to open nominations for the 2014 Mallory Gilbert Leadership Award. The deadline for nominations is March 12, 2014 and the recipient will be named at the 2014 PACT Conference in Fredericton, NB.

This $5000 Award was initiated in celebration of PACT’s 30th anniversary in 2006-2007 and named in honour of Mallory Gilbert, who was Tarragon Theatre’s General Manager for 34 years and one of the founders and a Past President of PACT. The annual Mallory Gilbert Leadership Award celebrates and recognizes outstanding leadership within the Canadian Theatre community.

Mallory Gilbert is one of Canada’s most respected arts managers. In addition to her successful tenure at Tarragon Theatre, she has served on numerous local and national boards of directors and advisory boards. Ms. Gilbert served on PACT’s Board for 20 years (as PACT President 1989-1993), and she was the recipient of PACT Honourary Life Membership in 2005. By mentoring countless aspiring arts administrators during the course of her career, she has shaped the careers of many of Canada’s theatre leaders and encouraged the creation of exciting new theatre ventures.

The award includes a $1000 portion presented to a protégé chosen by the award winner, underlining the importance of skills and knowledge transmission in leadership building.

The Panel
The 2014 Selection Panel for the Mallory Gilbert Leadership Award will review all nominations and select one winner, judging nominations against the eligibility requirements. At its discretion, the Selection Panel may choose to grant no award or multiple awards in one year. All Selection Panel deliberations are strictly confidential.

Nominations are Now Open!
The nomination form and more information about the Mallory Gilbert Leadership Award can be found on the PACT website or by emailing Meg Shannon at

Please Note
Those who submitted a nomination in 2013 are welcome to update or re-submit their nomination packages.

Deadline for Submissions is March 12, 2014.

Tarragon Theatre and PACT initiated the Mallory Gilbert Leadership Award. The award was borne out of an exceptional collaboration based on their deep appreciation for Mallory’s contribution to both organizations and their shared commitment to leadership in the theatre community. Tarragon Theatre sponsored the award for the first five years of its existence and continues to help promote it; PACT administers the award and its selection process, and hosts the presentation ceremony at the PACT Conference each year.

The Mallory Gilbert Leadership Award was presented in 2013 to David Abel, Executive Director of Art of Time Ensemble in Toronto, ON.

David is a 25-year veteran of the arts management industry beginning his career with Mirvish Productions before joining Canadian Stage, where David held responsibility for management of the company’s $10M business and theatrical affairs including all financial, producing, administrative, operations, marketing, and volunteer activity. Mr. Abel spent six years as Director and Executive Committee member of the Board of PACT. As Chair of the Labour Relations Committee, David lead two negotiating processes for the Canadian Theatre Agreement – the national contract between theatre producers and Canadian Actors’ Equity Association, governing the working conditions for professional Canadian theatre artists.

The protégé selected by David was Rebecca Singh, Director of Cultural Affairs for the Consulate General of Israel in Toronto and Western Canada.

About PACT
The Professional Association of Canadian Theatres (PACT) is a member-driven organization that serves as the collective voice of professional Canadian theatres. For the betterment of Canadian theatre, PACT provides leadership, national representation and a variety of programs and practical assistance to member companies, enabling members to do their own creative work.