Event: Script Tease Will Deliver the Work of This Year’s Siminovitch Finalists As Never Seen Before (or After)!, Siminovitch Prize

Hosted by Daniel MacIvor (Siminovitch Laureate 2008)

In an evening of (un)scripted surprises, Script Tease will deliver the work of this year’s Siminovitch finalists as never seen before (or after)!

Forever pushing the boundaries of what theatre and improvisation can be, notorious crowd pleasers Naomi Snieckus and Matt Baram ask the 2014 Siminovitch Finalists to write a few lines of a new play (a tease). Those lines are sealed in an envelope, Naomi and Matt read it cold, and then completely improvise the rest of the scene!

The 2014 finalists are: Michel Marc Bouchard (Lilies and Christina, The Girl King); Olivier Choinière (Autodafé, Félicité/Bliss);  Hannah Moscovitch (East of Berlin, This Is War); and Colleen Murphy (The December Man/L’homme de décembre, Pig Girl).For full bios, visit siminovitchprize.com/finalists

Watch for the appearance of celebrity critics!

The National Theatre of the World is a multi-disciplinary, Toronto-based, not-for-profit theatre company that creates exciting, provocative, and instantaneous theatre through the art of improvisation. N.T.O.W. was founded in 2008, by Co-Artistic Directors Matt Baram, Ron Pederson and Naomi Snieckus with the mandate of creating new Canadian work and to encourage the theatre and improvisation communities to come together.

Tarragon Theatre, 30 Bridgman Ave.
Sunday October 19, 2014
Doors at 7 pm, Show at 7:30 pm
Admission: PWYC at the door

For more information on all Siminovitch Weekend Events including the Awards Ceremony October 20 and In Conversation With Chris Abraham and Mitchell Cushman October 16, visit www.siminovitchprize.com.

facebook.com/ /siminovitchprize


The Siminovitch Prize in Theatre honours professional directors, playwrights and designers by acknowledging excellence while encouraging even greater exploration and originality in Canadian theatre. The Siminovitch Prize was created in 2001 and is dedicated to distinguished scientist Lou Siminovitch and his late wife Elinore, a playwright. A jury awards the $100,000 prize annually. Previous recipients are Daniel Brooks (2001), Carole Fréchette (2002), Louise Campeau (2003), Jillian Keiley (2004), John Mighton (2005), Dany Lyne (2006), Brigitte Haentjens (2007),  Daniel MacIvor (2008), Ronnie Burkett (2009), Kim Collier (2010), Joan MacLeod (2011) Robert Thomson (2012) and Chris Abraham (2013).